The fakest fake that ever faked

Even though my screen name is GBA Gamer Girl, I have a much larger DS collection than GBA!  😉  That said, I recently posted my humble collection to r/gamecollecting to see what the peanut gallery had to say (they were complimentary and valued the same things that I did) but one poster especially noticed that in a big picture of many carts, my TMNT cart looked bootleg.

20160424_121207
My original photo post to /r/gamecollecting- I feel like I have lost a few carts over the years, I feel like my collection wasn’t always this thin…

I am preeeeetty sure that this is the 2007 game but there are actually multiple TMNT games for GBA.  According to wikipedia:

TMNT is a hack and slash video game developed by TmntgbaUbisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft for the Game Boy Advance. It is based on the 2007 CGI movie and was first released in North America on March 20, 2007, and was later released in Australia on March 22, 2007, and in Europe on March 23, 2007.

Another game with the same title was also released on the Xbox 360, Wii, PlayStation 2, GameCube, PC,Nintendo DS, and PlayStation Portable video game consoles, though this version is vastly different from any of the others released and a 2.5-D side-scrolling beat-’em-up game involving no three-dimensional gameplay.

I think this is this game, because the label looks like the box art.  The other one looks earlier and to be related to the early 2000’s Saturday morning cartoon (which was really excellent, to be honest!  Up until the last season when they started to get a little crazy go nuts with either time or space travel.)  The 2007 CGI movie the article references is pretty good, and this game reviewed well.  I remember wanting it at the time because I had watched the movie with a friend.  She remembered this and kindly eBayed a copy to gift to me (I suspect for Christmas that year).  When the game arrived, it was obvious to both of us it was a bootleg.  Here are a few pics:

No Nintendo Seal of Approval, and the cartridge is taped together.  A quick look for it on eBay shows that the cart should just be a regular colour (I think)  Yup, definitely a fake!  I don’t mind having a few bootleg carts in my collection, they are quite interesting and as long as somebody hasn’t been tricked into paying big bucks for what they think is an authentic cart for a serious collection, playable bootlegs of game carts for a system a few generations ago isn’t the worst thing that could happen to me (that said, this was a contemporary bootleg which I wouldn’t go out of my way to support- current reproduction carts I think have a place for a collector who wants a library to play, not to look good on a shelf).

Sadly, I don’t think I have played this game through yet though this copy works fine on my GBA, my DS and my Game Boy Player.  I’ll have to pop it in and play it through!  And acquire a legit copy for the collection- it isn’t overly expensive, so I bet I can find it local at a flea market or from one of our local re-sellers.  I’ll have to capture some gameplay footage when I get my DS with the capture card installed back.

FUN FACT:  Looks like I blogged about this forever-ago back when I used to blog on 1up.com!  I found this picture that I uploaded to photobucket of the cart, instruction manual, and box.  I didn’t remember previously writing about it when I started this post, hilarious.

 photo DSCF0671.jpg

Not sure if I took this photo in my college dorm room in Ottawa, or in England!  Trying to remember where I had that furniture.  My gut says England.  Funny to repeat a blog post.

Leave a Reply

